
Chapters (237)
- Nooks & Corners
- of
- Old New York
- Charles Hemftreet
- Illustrated By
- E. C. Peixotto
- New York Charles Scribner's Sons MDCCCCV
- COPYRIGHT, 1899 BY CHARLES SCRIBNER'S SONS NEW YORK
- INTRODUCTORY NOTE
- LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS
- NOOKS AND CORNERS OF OLD NEW YORK
- I
- THE SITE OF FORT AMSTERDAM, BUILT IN 1626. WITHIN THE FORTIFICATIONS WAS ERECTED THE FIRST SUBSTANTIAL CHURCH EDIFICE ON THE ISLAND OF MANHATTAN. IN 1787 THE FORT WAS DEMOLISHED AND THE GOVERNMENT HOUSE BUILT UPON THIS SITE
- 1636 1897 ON THIS SITE STOOD THE "STADHUIS" OF NEW AMSTERDAM——ERECTED 1636 THIS TABLET IS PLACED HERE IN LOVING MEMORY OF THE FIRST DUTCH SETTLERS BY THE HOLLAND DAMES OF THE NEW NETHERLANDS AND THE KNIGHTS OF THE LEGION OF THE CROWN LAVINIA KONIGIN
- TO COMMEMORATE THE GALLANT AND PATRIOTIC ACT OF MARINUS WILLETT IN HERE SEIZING JUNE 6, 1775, FROM THE BRITISH FORCES THE MUSKETS WITH WHICH HE ARMED HIS TROOPS. THIS TABLET IS ERECTED BY THE SOCIETY OF THE SONS OF THE REVOLUTION, NEW YORK, NOV. 12, 1892
- THE SITE OF THE FIRST DUTCH HOUSE OF ENTERTAINMENT ON THE ISLAND OF MANHATTAN LATER THE SITE OF THE OLD "STADT HUYS" OR CITY HALL THIS TABLET IS PLACED HERE BY THE HOLLAND SOCIETY OF NEW YORK SEPTEMBER, 1890
- ON THIS SITE WILLIAM BRADFORD APPOINTED PUBLIC PRINTER APRIL 10, A. D. 1693 ESTABLISHED THE FIRST PRINTING PRESS IN THE COLONY OF NEW YORK ERECTED BY THE NEW YORK HISTORICAL SOCIETY APRIL 10, A. D. 1893 IN COMMEMORATION OF THE 200TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE INTRODUCTION OF PRINTING IN NEW YORK
- HERE STOOD THE MIDDLE DUTCH CHURCH DEDICATED A. D. 1729 MADE A BRITISH MILITARY PRISON 1776 RESTORED 1790 OCCUPIED AS THE UNITED STATES POST-OFFICE 1845-1875 TAKEN DOWN 1882
- "GOLDEN HILL" HERE, JAN. 18, 1770 THE FIGHT TOOK PLACE BETWEEN THE "SONS OF LIBERTY" AND THE BRITISH REGULARS, 16TH FOOT FIRST BLOODSHED IN THE WAR OF THE REVOLUTION
- ON THIS SITE IN THE OLD SHAKESPEARE TAVERN WAS ORGANIZED THE SEVENTH REGIMENT NATIONAL GUARD, S. N. Y. AUG. 25, 1824
- ON THE COMMON OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK, NEAR WHERE THIS BUILDING NOW STANDS, THERE STOOD FROM 1766 TO 1776 A LIBERTY POLE ERECTED TO COMMEMORATE THE REPEAL OF THE STAMP ACT. IT WAS REPEATEDLY DESTROYED BY THE VIOLENCE OF THE TORIES AND AS REPEATEDLY REPLACED BY THE SONS OF LIBERTY, WHO ORGANIZED A CONSTANT WATCH AND GUARD. IN ITS DEFENCE THE FIRST MARTYR BLOOD OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION WAS SHED ON JAN. 18, 1770.
- NEAR THIS SPOT IN THE PRESENCE OF GEN. GEORGE WASHINGTON THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE WAS READ AND PUBLISHED TO THE AMERICAN ARMY JULY 9TH, 1776
- THE FIRST PRESIDENTIAL MANSION NO. 1 CHERRY STREET OCCUPIED BY GEORGE WASHINGTON FROM APRIL 23, 1789 TO FEBRUARY 23, 1790 ERECTED BY THE MARY WASHINGTON COLONIAL CHAPTER, D.A.R. APRIL 30, 1899
- II
- II
- THIS TABLET MARKS THE SITE OF THE FIRST HABITATIONS OF WHITE MEN ON THE ISLAND OF MANHATTAN ADRIAN BLOCK COMMANDER OF THE "TIGER" ERECTED HERE FOUR HOUSES OR HUTS AFTER HIS VESSEL WAS BURNED NOVEMBER, 1613 HE BUILT THE RESTLESS, THE FIRST VESSEL MADE BY EUROPEANS IN THIS COUNTRY THE RESTLESS WAS LAUNCHED IN THE SPRING OF 1614
- W. C. HEAR . LYES . THE . BODY OF . RICHARD . CHVRCH ER . SON . OF . WILLIA M . CHVRCHER . WHO . DIED . THE . 5 OF . APRIL 1681 . OF . AGE 5 YEARS AND . 5 . MONTHS
- HERE LIES DEPOSITED THE BODY OF JAMES LEESON, WHO DEPARTED THIS LIFE ON THE 28TH DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 1794, AGED 38 YEARS.
- IN MEMORY OF MICHAEL CRESAP FIRST CAPTAIN OF THE RIFLE BATTALIONS AND SON OF COLONEL THOMAS CRESAP WHO DEPARTED THIS LIFE OCT. 18, A. D. 1775.
- THE SITE OF LIEUT. GOVE. DE LANCEY'S HOUSE, LATER THE CITY HOTEL. IT WAS HERE THAT THE NON-IMPORTATION AGREEMENT, IN OPPOSITION TO THE STAMP ACT, WAS SIGNED, OCT. 15TH, 1766. THE TAVERN HAD MANY PROPRIETORS BY WHOSE NAMES IT WAS SUCCESSIVELY CALLED. IT WAS ALSO KNOWN AS THE PROVINCE ARMS, THE CITY ARMS AND BURNS COFFEE HOUSE OR TAVERN.
- TO MARK THE LANDING PLACE OF GENERAL GEORGE WASHINGTON, JUNE 25, 1775, ON HIS WAY TO CAMBRIDGE TO COMMAND THE AMERICAN ARMY.
- III
- III
- IN THIS VAULT LIES BURIED PETRUS STUYVESANT, LATE CAPTAIN-GENERAL AND GOVERNOR IN CHIEF OF AMSTERDAM IN NEW NETHERLAND NOW CALLED NEW YORK AND THE DUTCH WEST INDIES, DIED IN A. D. 1671/2 AGED 80 YEARS.
- ON THIS CORNER GREW PETRUS STUYVESANT'S PEAR TREE
- RECALLED TO HOLLAND IN 1664, ON HIS RETURN HE BROUGHT THE PEAR TREE AND PLANTED IT AS HIS MEMORIAL, "BY WHICH," SAID HE, "MY NAME MAY BE REMEMBERED." THE PEAR TREE FLOURISHED AND BORE FRUIT FOR OVER TWO HUNDRED YEARS. THIS TABLET IS PLACED HERE BY THE HOLLAND SOCIETY OF NEW YORK SEPTEMBER, 1890.
- GRAMERCY PARK FOUNDED BY SAMUEL B. RUGGLES 1831 COMMEMORATED BY THIS TABLET IMBEDDED IN THE GRAMERCY FARM BY JOHN RUGGLES STRONG. 1875.
- INDEX
- INDEX
- [Pg 1]
- [Pg 2]
- [Pg 3]
- [Pg 4]
- [Pg 5]
- [Pg 6]
- [Pg 8]
- [Pg 9]
- [Pg 10]
- [Pg 11]
- [Pg 12]
- [Pg 13]
- [Pg 14]
- [Pg 15]
- [Pg 16]
- [Pg 17]
- [Pg 18]
- [Pg 19]
- [Pg 20]
- [Pg 21]
- [Pg 22]
- [Pg 23]
- [Pg 24]
- [Pg 26]
- [Pg 27]
- [Pg 28]
- [Pg 29]
- [Pg 30]
- [Pg 31]
- [Pg 32]
- [Pg 33]
- [Pg 34]
- [Pg 35]
- [Pg 36]
- [Pg 38]
- [Pg 39]
- [Pg 40]
- [Pg 41]
- [Pg 42]
- [Pg 43]
- [Pg 44]
- [Pg 45]
- [Pg 46]
- [Pg 47]
- [Pg 48]
- [Pg 49]
- [Pg 50]
- [Pg 51]
- [Pg 52]
- [Pg 53]
- [Pg 54]
- [Pg 55]
- [Pg 56]
- [Pg 57]
- [Pg 58]
- [Pg 59]
- [Pg 60]
- [Pg 61]
- [Pg 62]
- [Pg 63]
- [Pg 64]
- [Pg 65]
- [Pg 66]
- [Pg 67]
- [Pg 68]
- [Pg 69]
- [Pg 70]
- [Pg 71]
- [Pg 72]
- [Pg 73]
- [Pg 74]
- [Pg 75]
- [Pg 76]
- [Pg 77]
- [Pg 79]
- [Pg 78]
- [Pg 80]
- [Pg 81]
- [Pg 82]
- [Pg 84]
- [Pg 85]
- [Pg 86]
- [Pg 87]
- [Pg 88]
- [Pg 89]
- [Pg 90]
- [Pg 91]
- [Pg 92]
- [Pg 93]
- [Pg 95]
- [Pg 96]
- [Pg 97]
- [Pg 98]
- [Pg 99]
- [Pg 100]
- [Pg 101]
- [Pg 102]
- [Pg 103]
- [Pg 104]
- [Pg 105]
- [Pg 106]
- [Pg 107]
- [Pg 108]
- [Pg 109]
- [Pg 110]
- [Pg 111]
- [Pg 112]
- [Pg 113]
- [Pg 114]
- [Pg 115]
- [Pg 116]
- [Pg 117]
- [Pg 118]
- [Pg 119]
- [Pg 120]
- [Pg 121]
- [Pg 122]
- [Pg 123]
- [Pg 124]
- [Pg 125]
- [Pg 126]
- [Pg 127]
- [Pg 128]
- [Pg 129]
- [Pg 130]
- [Pg 131]
- [Pg 132]
- [Pg 133]
- [Pg 134]
- [Pg 135]
- [Pg 136]
- [Pg 137]
- [Pg 138]
- [Pg 139]
- [Pg 140]
- [Pg 142]
- [Pg 143]
- [Pg 144]
- [Pg 145]
- [Pg 146]
- [Pg 147]
- [Pg 148]
- [Pg 149]
- [Pg 150]
- [Pg 151]
- [Pg 152]
- [Pg 155]
- [Pg 156]
- [Pg 157]
- [Pg 159]
- [Pg 160]
- [Pg 161]
- [Pg 162]
- [Pg 163]
- [Pg 164]
- [Pg 165]
- [Pg 166]
- [Pg 167]
- [Pg 168]
- [Pg 169]
- [Pg 171]
- [Pg 172]
- [Pg 173]
- [Pg 175]
- [Pg 176]
- [Pg 177]
- [Pg 178]
- [Pg 179]
- [Pg 180]
- [Pg 181]
- [Pg 182]
- [Pg 183]
- [Pg 184]
- [Pg 185]
- [Pg 186]
- [Pg 187]
- [Pg 188]
- [Pg 189]
- [Pg 190]
- [Pg 191]
- [Pg 192]
- [Pg 193]
- [Pg 195]
- [Pg 196]
- [Pg 197]
- [Pg 198]
- [Pg 199]
- [Pg 200]
- [Pg 201]
- [Pg 202]
- [Pg 203]
- [Pg 204]
- [Pg 205]
- [Pg 206]
- [Pg 207]
- [Pg 208]
- [Pg 210]
- [Pg 211]
How to Listen
- 1. Click "Listen Free" above
- 2. The book opens in CastReader's browser reader
- 3. Click the play button — AI narration starts with word highlighting
- 4. Use "Send to Phone" to continue listening on your phone
More by Charles Hemstreet
FAQ
Is this audiobook really free?
Yes. "Nooks & Corners of Old New York" is a public domain work from Project Gutenberg. CastReader converts it to audio using AI text-to-speech for free. No account or payment needed.
What does the AI voice sound like?
CastReader uses Kokoro TTS, a natural-sounding AI voice. It handles punctuation, names, and dialogue naturally. Most listeners forget it's AI after a few minutes.
Can I listen on my phone?
Yes. Open the book, then use "Send to Phone" to stream audio to your phone via Telegram. No app download needed.

